Welcome to CTC 2012

Sydney City, Harbour and Opera House

3rd Cybercrime and Trustworthy Computing Workshop (CTC-2012)

Organising Committee:

A/Prof Paul A. Watters (University of Ballarat)
Prof Josef Pieprzyk (Macquarie University)
Dr Stephen McCombie (CSC)
Dr Robert Layton (University of Ballarat)

Following on from the second succesful workshop in Ballarat in 2010, CTC-2012 will be held from 29-30th October, 2012, at the Greenhill Enterprise Centre at the University of Ballarat, and will be hosted by the Internet Commerce Security Laboratory (ICSL).


Cybercrime continues to be a growth industry, assisted by a combination of technical factors, such as non-secure hardware and software platforms, and psychological factors, such as user error or naivety. The objective of this workshop is to bring together two distinct groups to encourage further collaboration - those who are working on researching cybercrime activity, such as phishing and malware, and those who are working on technical countermeasures.
The scope of the workshop is very narrow, to ensure a complementary match between capability and need. Papers should either be empirically or rationally based explorations of problems in cybercrime, or propose solutions and/or countermeasures to the most pressing cybercrimes.
Example topic areas on the cybercrime theme might include:
New techniques for identifying phishing, malware and botnet attacks New approaches for attributing attacks to specific individuals or groups Analysis of scams, including advance fee fraud, romance scams etc Identity theft including recovery processes Modelling of the cost of cybercrime to the Australian economy Novel forensic techniques to identify crimeware
For the countermeasures side, topic areas might include:
User education and/or psychological operations

A major theme of the event will be to plan future research interactions and relationships between industry and academia.

Submission Categories:

Refereed Papers

All submissions are to be made using the Easychair system. At least one author of each accepted paper is required to register and present their work at the conference, otherwise the paper will not be included in the proceedings. Presentations will be 30 minutes in length (20 minutes talk, 10 minutes for questions). The workshop proceedings will be published by IEEE CPS who will submit papers for indexing to EI. Papers should be written using the IEEE CS style, with up to 12 pages. All papers should be submitted for double-blind review, ie, no contact or author details should appear on the submitted paper.

Industry Demonstrations

Participants are invited to give practical demonstrations on cutting-edge technologies, or illustrations of difficult probles that currently do not have good solutions. Please e-mail the organisers if you wish to give a demonstration - we strongly encourage industry participants to do this.


Paper Submission Deadline: 3 August 2012
Paper Status Notification: 17 August 2012
Final Papers Due in PDF Format: 31 August 2012
Workshop: 29-30 October 2012

Paper Submission:


Program Committee Members

Dr Jemal Abawajy, Deakin University
Dr Mamoun Alazab, Australian National University
Mr Milton Baar, Macquarie University
Prof Lynn Batten, Deakin University
Dr Kim-Kwang Raymond Choo, University of South Australia
Dr Richard Dazeley, University of Ballarat
Prof Colin Fidge, Queensland University of Technology
Dr Gaurav Gupta, Macquarie University
Dr Julian Jang, CSIRO
Dr Mohan Kankanhalli, National University of Singapore
Dr Robert Layton, University of Ballarat
Prof Chris Mitchell, Royal Holloway, University of London
Dr Alex Ng, University of Ballarat
Mr Nigel Phair, University of Canberra
Prof Josef Pieprzyk, Macquarie University
Dr Man Qi, Canterbury Christchurch University
Dr Matthew Sorell, University of Adelaide
Dr Ron Stenfield, Macquarie University
Prof Willy Susilo, University of Wollongong
Dr Fergus Toolan, University College Dublin
Dr Peter Vamplew, University of Ballarat
Prof Vijay Varadharajan, Macquarie University
Prof Wei Wang, Nanjing Normal University
A/Prof Paul Watters, University of Ballarat
Dr George Weir, University of Strathclyde
Prof Liu Wu, Tsinghua University
Dr John Zic, CSIRO


Mr Simon Brown, Westpac Banking Corporation
Mr Aaron Herps, AFACT
Mr Stephen McCombie, CSC
Mr Theo Nassiokas, Australia and New Zealand Banking Group
Ms Megan Storrar, IBM
Mr Cameron Woolfe, IBM
Mr Dan Xu, Australia and New Zealand Banking Group

Law Enforcement:

Assistant Commissioner Neil Gaughan, Australian Federal Police
Mr Robert Hanson, Australian Crime Commission
Mr Alex Tilley, Australian Federal Police

Costs and Registration

All participants will receive a copy of the Proceedings published by the IEEE CPS. The registration fee will be A$399 which will include lunch, morning and afternoon teas on both days. An informal conference dinner will be organised at participant's own expense.

Contact details:

Email queries to p.watters@ballarat.edu.au
All content copyright 2012 University of Ballarat (CRICOS Provider Number 00103D)